Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award

Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award

The Max Planck Society and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation redesigned their joint research award: the Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award is endowed with 1.5 million euros and will be presented to a researcher from outside Germany from 2018. The award is aimed at scientists with outstanding future potential.

The award is intended to attract outstanding and particularly innovative international scientists to German universities and research institutions for research residencies of limited time periods. The award winners will enjoy freedom and flexibility in organising their scientific activities and networking in Germany. The award, which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, replaces the Max Planck Research Award, which was previously bestowed annually to two researchers by the Humboldt Foundation and the MPG.

For the new Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award, a nomination committee from the Max Planck Society will identify three international candidates who have a strong interest in a research residency, which can be organized flexibly, at German institutions, preferably universities. A selection committee, which will include the Presidents of the Humboldt Foundation and the MPG, will then select the winner from the list of nominees. The award money of 1.5 million euros will enable the winner to carry out innovative and high-risk research, and to develop new research formats. This distinction is to be supplemented by an additional sum of 80,000 euros in personal award funding.

The annual award will be presented alternatively in the fields of natural and engineering sciences, human sciences, and life sciences. The 2018 award will go to a researcher from the natural and engineering sciences, the 2019 award will be awarded in the human sciences and the 2020 award in the life sciences. Self nominations or nominations outside of the processes of the appointed nomination committee are not permitted.

Roberto Bonasio is awarded the Max Planck Humboldt-Research Award 2020, Luciano Marraffini receives the Max Planck-Humboldt Medal more
Ufuk Akcigit receives the Max Planck Humboldt-Research Award 2019, Elliot Tucker-Drob of the University of Texas is honored with the Max Planck-Humboldt Medal more
Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award 2018
On November 7, the Max Planck-Humboldt Research and Medals were awarded to Catherine Heymans, Sam Payne, and Robert Wood. more
Go to Editor View