Fields Medal

The Fields Medal is the most prestigious award for mathematicians and has been awarded every four years since 1936 at the International Mathematical Congress to at least two young mathematicians for their outstanding achievements. The prize is endowed with 15,000 Canadian dollars and was conceived by the Canadian mathematician John Charges Fields (1863-1932) to compensate for the lack of a Nobel Prize in Mathematics.


Peter Scholze

Prof. Dr. Peter Scholze

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, Bonn


For pioneering methods at the intersection of number theory and geometry.


Gerd Faltings

Prof. Dr. Gerd Faltings


For his proof of the Mordell Conjecture and his work in algebraic geometry.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View