Leibniz Prize

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the highest honour awarded in German research. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified young researchers. A maximum of €2.5 million is provided per award.



Prof. Dr. Ralph Hertwig MPI for Human Development, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Frank Jülicher MPI for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden
Prof. Dr. Joachim Spatz MPI for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart

2010 - 2015


Prof. Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier MPI for Infection Biology, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Benjamin List MPI für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim/Ruhr
Prof. Dr. Marina Rodnina MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen


Prof. Dr. Armin von Bogdandy MPI for Comparative Public Law and International Law
Prof. Dr. Nicole Dubilier MPI for Marine Microbiology


Prof. Dr. Roderich Moessner MPI for the Physics of Complex Systmems


Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann MPI for Biochemistry


Prof. Dr. Anthony A. Hyman MPI of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Keimer MPI for Solid State Research


Prof. Dr. Ulman Lindenberger MPI for Human Development
Prof. Dr. Peter Fratzl MPI of Colloids and Interfaces
Prof. Dr. Frank Neese MPI for Chemical Energy Conversion

2000 - 2009


Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius MPI for Marine Microbiology
Prof. Dr. Karl Lenhard Rudolph Max Planck Research Group "Stem Cell Biology and Tissue Regeneration" at the University of Ulm


Prof. Dr. Elena Conti MPI of Biochemistry
Prof. Dr. Stefan W. Hell MPI for Biophysical Chemistry
Dr. Elisa Izaurralde MPI for Developmental Biology
Prof. Dr. Klaus Kern MPI for Solid State Research


Prof. Dr. Patrick Bruno MPI of Microstructure Physics
Dr. Guinevre Kauffmann MPI for Astrophysics
Prof. Dr. Detlef Weigel MPI for Developmental Biology


Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz MPI of Quantum Optics
Prof. Dr. Marino Zerial MPI of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics


Prof. Dr. Günther Hasinger MPI for Extraterrestrial Physics


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dierk Raaber MPI für Eisenforschung GmbH


Prof. Dr. Winfried Denk MPI for Medical Research
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Huisken MPI for Gravitational Physics
Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth MPI für Kohlenforschung
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel MPI for Informatics


Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl MPI of Biochemistry


Prof. Dr. Reinhard Jahn MPI for Biophysical Chemistry
Prof. Dr. Stefan Müller MPI for Mathematics in the Sciences
Prof. Dr. Ilme Schlichting MPI for Medical Research

1990 - 1999


Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner MPI für Kohlenforschung


Prof. Dr. Angela Friederici MPI for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences


Prof. Dr. Eduard Arzt MPI for Metals Research
Prof. Dr. Gerd Faltings MPI for Mathematics
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Klein MPI for Psycholinguistics
Prof. Dr. Michael Reth MPI of Immunobiology and Epigenetics


Prof. Dr. Peter Gruss MPI for Biophysical Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Gunter Fischer Max Planck Research Unit for Enzymology of Protein Folding
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Krätschmer MPI for Nuclear Physics
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Prinz


Dr. Hans-Georg Rammensee


Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society


Prof. Dr. Reinhard Genzel MPI for Extraterrestrial Physics
Prof. Dr. Arndt Simon MPI for Solid State Research, together with Prof. Martin Jansen, Institute for Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Bonn

1986 - 1989


Prof. Dr. Theodor Hänsch MPI of Quantum Optics


Prof. Dr. Hans Wolfgang Spiess MPI for Polymer Research


Prof. Dr. Erwin Neher MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, together with Bert Sakmann
Prof. Dr. Bert Sakmann MPI for Medical Research, together with Erwin Neher


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Michel MPI of Biophysics
Prof. Dr. Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard MPI for Developmental Biology, together with Herbert Jckle
Prof. Dr. Herbert Jäckle MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, together with Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard
Prof. Dr. Fritz Schäfer MPI for Biophysical Chemistry