Lasker Award

The Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research is awarded by the American Lasker Foundation. The Lasker Awards recognize outstanding contributions to biomedical science and are presented in the categories of “Basic Medical Research,” “Clinical Medical Research,” “Public Service,” and “Special Achievement in Medical Science,” and are widely recognized as the highest honors bestowed upon medical scientists by an American organization. Numerous Lasker Award winners later also received the Nobel Prize.


Dieter Oesterhelt

Prof. Dr. Dieter Oesterhelt († 2022)

Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried

The biochemist Dieter Oesterhelt is awarded for the discovery of light-sensitive proteins in the membrane of unicellular organisms and their use in the development of optogenetics.



Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried

Franz-Ulrich Hartl is being honoured for the discovery of chaperones that mediate the folding of proteins.



Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard

Prof. Dr. Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard

Max Planck Institute for Biology Tübingen, Tübingen

Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard is being honoured for her research on the genetic control of embryonic development.



Georges Köhler

Prof. Dr. Georges Köhler († 1995)

Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg

Georg Köhler is honoured for the development of monoclonal antibodies.



Ernst Ruska

Prof. Dr. Ernst Ruska († 1988)

Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin

Ernst Ruska is honoured for the development of the electron microscope.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View