18 Max Planck researchers celebrate winning EU funding

The European Research Council (ERC) has awarded its 2018 Starting Grants. In this year's funding round, eighteen scientists from institutes of the Max Planck Society, including eight women, were successful. They each receive up to 1.5 million euros to pursue their research projects.

ERC Starting Grants are awarded annually by the European Research Council. The prestigious grants are awarded to researchers of any nationality with two to seven years of experience since completion of the PhD, who carry out their project at a European research institution. In this funding round, the Max Planck Society was once again the most successful institution in Germany, ahead of Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich (10 grants), and the Helmholtz Association (6 grants).

Of the 18 grants awarded to Max Planck researchers, five are in the fields of chemistry, physics and technology, nine in the life sciences, and four in the humanities and social sciences. The following researchers can look forward to a funding boost for their projects.

Chemistry, Physics & Technology

  • Andreas Bulling, MPI for Informatics, Saarbrücken
  • Björn Brandenburg, MPI for Software Systems, Kaiserslautern and Saarbrücken
  • Timothy Pennycook, MPI for Solid State Research, Stuttgart
  • Nahid Talebi Sarvari, MPI for Solid State Research, Stuttgart
  • Raimund Strauss, MPI of Physics, Munich

Biology & Medicine

  • Karl Duderstadt, MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried
  • Danny Nedialkova, MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried
  • Hannes Mutschler, MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried
  • Julijana Gjorgjieva, MPI for Brain Research, Frankfurt/Main
  • Valerie Hilgers, MPI of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg
  • Tobias Kaiser, MPI for Evolutionary Biology, Plön
  • Christian Mayer, MPI of Neurobiology, Martinsried
  • Korbinian Schneeberger, MPI for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne
  • Sophie Steculorum, MPI for Metabolism Research, Cologne

Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Kirsten Bos, MPI for the Science of Human History, Jena
  • Christina Warinner, MPI for the Science of Human History, Jena
  • Jarrett Camp, MPI for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig
  • Sahra Talamo, MPI for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig

Sebastian Soyk, who submitted the grant with the MPG as host institution, decided at short notice to carry out his research project at a Swiss research institute. ERC Grantees are basically free to change their host institution at any time.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View