Peter Hans Hofschneider Prize

The Peter Hans Hofschneider Prize has been awarded by the Max Planck Society every two years since 2005. The award honours groundbreaking research in the area of molecular medicine. Young researchers whose research projects are presented with the prize receive a certificate and 3000 euros in cash. The prizes are being awarded at the Section Meetings of the Max Planck Society’s Annual Meeting.

Peter Hans Hofschneider, for whom the award is named, was born in Stuttgart on February 14, 1929. He studied medicine, biology and psychology in Tübingen, Freiburg and Heidelberg. Today, he is regarded as a pioneer in the field of molecular biology and one of the key figures in interferon research. From 1966 onwards, he was director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried as well as co-founder of the Gene Center of the University of Munich (LMU). It was under his auspices that the Max Planck Society drew up safety regulations for genetic engineering for the first time in Germany. 

The prize winners at a glance:


Constanze Depp, Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences, Göttingen
Fan Wu, Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim


Mohamed Ahmed El-Brolosy, Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim


Sophie Steculorum, Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research, Cologne


Katerina Kraft, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin


Klaus Wagner, Max Planck Institute for Psychiatry, Munich


Abdul Hakkim, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin


Rui Benedito, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine, Münster


Aleksandra Piwko-Czuchra, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried


Markus Krumbholz, Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology, Martinsried

Go to Editor View