Hermann Neuhaus Prize

The Hermann Neuhaus Prize was launched in 2018. It recognizes excellent postdocs and research group leaders who are conducting research with the potential for application at a Max Planck Institute. It is awarded by the Max Planck Society (MPS) and funded by the Max Planck Foundation (MPF) in memory of the entrepreneur Hermann Neuhaus. Like many excellent scientists, he used his untiring creativity and critical mind to strive constantly for the best. His aim was to shape the future for generations to come. He is the most generous benefactor of the MPF and posthumously received the Harnack Medal, the MPS’s highest accolade.

The prize money is 25,000 euros (20,000 euros are earmarked for research funds, 5,000 euros are for the prize winner´s personal use).


To be eligible to apply, you must

  • be a postdoc or research group leader at a MPI in the Biology and Medicine Section (BMS) or Chemical, Physical and Technical Section (CPTS).
  • conduct research with potential for application.
  • be within 7 years of completing your PhD. This will be extended by any maternity leave(s) or other relevant leaves of absence. Therefore the 7 years do not need to be continuous. Details of these leaves will need to be specified in your CV.

Prize Winners


Vahid Babaei, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbrücken


Chandradhish Ghosh, Max-Planck-Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam


Dr. Jesús Esteban Serrano, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim an der Ruhr


Dr. Arjun Chennu, Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen

Go to Editor View