Otto Hahn Award

Otto Hahn Award

The Max Planck Society provides one recipient of the Otto Hahn Medal each year with the opportunity, following on from a stay abroad, to head a small research group (former Otto Hahn Groups) at an MPI of their choice with a research project specifically designed for that purpose, thus enabling a young scientist / researcher to continue his/her career in Germany.



Andreas Reiserer, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching


Michael Römelt, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim


Mariana Rossi Carvalho, Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin


Samuel Meek, Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin

Marc Engelhart, MPI for Foreign and International Criminal Law, Freiburg


Daniela Sammler, MPI for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig

Susanne Ressl, MPI of Biophysics, Frankfurt

Joachim Kopp, MPI for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg

Fabian Suchanek, MPI for Informatics, Saarbrücken


Daniel Mazin, MPI für Physics, Munich

Yaowen Wu, MPI of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund

Andreas M. Fleckner, MPI for Intellectual Property, Munich


Eduardo Altmann, MPI for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden

Yvonne Brehmer, MPI for Human Development, Berlin

Alexander Stein, MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Mainz


Holger Hestermeyer, MPI for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg

Christoph Kayser, MPI for Biological Cybernetics, Tübingen

Ulrike Krewer, MPI for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems, Magdeburg


Andrey Rybalchenko, MPI for Informatics, Saarbrücken

Axel Nimmerjahn, MPI for Medical Research, Heidelberg

Boris Pfander, MPI of Biochemistry, Martinsried

Cornelia Woll, MPI for the Studies of Societies, Cologne

loading content