Nobel Prizes and Laureates of the Kaiser Wilhelm Gesellschaft

1944 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Otto Hahn (1879-1968)

For his discovery of heavy nuclei fission.

1939 -Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Theodor Hänsch

Adolf Butenandt (1903-1995)

For his work on sex hormones.

1938 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Richard Kuhn

Richard Kuhn (1900-1967)

For his work on carotenoids and vitamins.

1936 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Peter J. W. Debye

Peter J. W. Debye (1884-1966)

For his contributions to our knowledge of molecular structure through his investigations on dipole moments and on the diffraction of X-rays and electrons in gases.

1935 - Nobel Prize in Medicine
Hans Spemann

Hans Spemann (1869-1941)

For his discovery of the organizer effect in embryonic development.

1932 - Nobel Prize in Physics
Werner Heisenberg

Werner Heisenberg (1901-1976)

For the creation of quantum mechanics, the application of which has, inter alia, led to the discovery of the allotropic hydrogen forms.

1931 - Nobel Prize in Medicine
Otto Heinrich Warburg

Otto Heinrich Warburg (1883-1970)

For his discovery of the respiratory enzyme's nature and mode of action.

1931 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Carl Bosch

Carl Bosch (1874-1940)

Together with Friedrich Bergius, for their contributions to the invention and development of chemical high pressure methods.

1925 - Nobel Prize in Physics
James Franck

James Franck (1882-1964)

Together with Gustav Ludwig Hertz, for their discovery of the laws governing the impact of an electron upon an atom.

1922 - Nobel Prize in Medicine
Otto Meyerhof

Otto Meyerhof(1884-1951)

Together with Archibald Vivian Hill, for his discovery relating to heat production in the muscle.

1921 - Nobel Prize in Physics
Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

For his service to Theoretical Physics, and especially for his discovery of the photoelectric effect.

1918 - Nobel Prize in Physics
Max Planck

Max Planck (1858-1947)

In recognition of the services he rendered to the advancement of Physics through his discovery of energy quanta.

1918 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Fritz Haber

Fritz Haber (1868-1934)

For ammonia synthesis from its elements.

1915 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Richard Willstätter

Richard Willstätter (1872-1942)

For his research into plant pigments, especially chlorophyll.

1914 - Nobel Prize in Physics
Max von Laue

Max von Laue (1879-1960)

For his discovery of crystalline X-ray diffraction.

Go to Editor View