

Rules for the Establishment of a Permanent Scientific Commission

Article 1 Establishment

A permanent Scientific Commission is to be established in the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft on the basis of Art. 17 para. 4 sentence 6¹ and Art. 28 para. 4 of the Statutes of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG Statutes).

Article 2 Competence

The Scientific Commission makes recommendations in an orderly process and after thorough deliberation:

- a) to renew or not to renew the Directorship in accordance with the Rules of Procedure on the Assignment of Directorship of 20 June 1974²,
- b) to take measures in the event of misconduct on the part of Directors within the meaning of Art. 28 para. 3 of the MPG Statutes and of all Scientific Members (with the exception of External Scientific Members) within the meaning of Art. 5 para. 1 of the MPG Statutes in accordance with the Rules of Procedure for Suspected Misconduct by Directors of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft of 23rd June 2023.

Article 3 Members of the permanent Scientific Commission

- (1) The permanent Scientific Commission consists of a Chairperson and their deputy as well as six additional members and an equal number of deputies.
- (2) The Verwaltungsrat (Executive Committee) appoints the Chairperson and a Deputy Chairperson for a term of six years.
- (3) Each Section elects two members and a first as well as a second deputy from among its Scientific Members with Directorship for a term of six years.
- (4) Permanent guests of the Scientific Commission are the Equal Opportunities Officer of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft and a representative of the scientific staff. In each Section, the representatives of the scientific staff elect a representative as well as a first and a second deputy from among their number for a term of three years.

1

¹ In the version adopted by the General Meeting of the Members on 22 June 2023

² In the version adopted by the Senate on 22 June 2023.

Article 4 Composition of the Scientific Commission in individual cases

- (1) As far as a specific individual case is concerned, the Scientific Commission consists of five individuals: the Chairperson, two members of the Section to which the Head of Institute or the affected Director belongs, and one member of each of the other two Sections. The members of the Scientific Commission must not belong to the same Institute as the one of the Head of Institute or the affected Director.
- (2) If a member is unable to attend, they will be replaced by the first deputy; if the first deputy is also unable to attend, they will be replaced by the second deputy. The fourth and fifth member are chosen by lot from the elected members of the other two Sections. If the individual drawn by lot is unable to attend, sentence 1 will apply accordingly.
- (3) The scientific staff members exercise their right of participation under Art. 3 para. 4 through their representative or one of the two deputies.
- (4) The general rules on conflicts of interest must be observed.

Article 5 Proceedings

- (1) The Scientific Commission is to be convened by the Chairperson in case of hindrance by her or his deputy.
- (2) The proceedings of the Scientific Commission are confidential. All parties involved must be made aware of the confidential character.
- (3) The Scientific Commission makes its recommendations with a majority of its votes.

Article 6 Coming into Force

These Rules come into force by resolution of the Senate of 22 June 2023 with expiry of 31 December 2023.